AbEd Inquiry – Becoming Comfortable – Andrew Robson

When I initially found out I was going to have to start including Aboriginal Education in my practice I was slightly alarmed. I found myself asking two questions: why was I having to do this? And how was I going to do this? I was hesitant to try anything because it felt so unnatural and unauthentic. I also did not see why it was so important. However, as time has gone on I have come to appreciate it’s value. Through activities in module and through research I have done on my own time I have started to become more comfortable.

One of the biggest reasons I was intimidated by the idea of this was I felt like I didn’t know anything about our history. From activities we have done in module and articles I have read, I now feel as though I have a better understanding.  I took some time to watch Wab Kinew’s 8th fire documentaries they were great resource for me. I have documented some of the information I have gathered in this PowerPoint presentation.

Aboriginal Education Inquiry

I have started to try incorporating AbEd in the classroom as well. I have focused on using some of the First Peoples Principles of Learning.

fppl

I was focusing on the second principle, making learning reflective and experiential. I was able to do this by creating a learning journal for my students. Roughly once a week I had students write a brief summary of what they know and what they are unsure of. It was an opportunity for them to evaluate their own learning process and reflect on what they had done.

Although right now AbEd is not as evident in my class as I would like it to be, it is something I plan to continue working on. I will continue to gather resources and look for ways that I can add it into my Science and PE units.

This will continue to be a work in progress for me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

