Personal Reconciliation of Truth

1. Ashamed2. Home3. Just One Minute4. My Backyard5. Welcome Song6. Belonging

by: Lisa Trulson

Inquiry Question: Where does the balance lie between respecting/ acknowledging the foundational aspects of First Nations culture and educating students on a truth that is not our own? How can I educate others on persecution when I fall into the categories of those who persecuted the First Nations?

This inquiry has brought me to a deeper understanding of my own biases and comfort zones in regards to aboriginal education. Using this project as a gateway into my own exploration I have gotten the opportunity to change perspectives and truly dive into the culture and traditions that are at the heart of First Nation lives. I have been seeking out stories; resources through lives lived. This inquiry has been an opportunity to reflect on who I am as a white, young, Christian and as a student aiming to be an educator. It has opened my eyes to become aware of our educations’ limits and its strengths. I have come to appreciate culture and diversity more through the exploration of First Nations history.

Learning about Self: This inquiry has brought me to a deeper understanding of my own biases and comfort zones in regards to aboriginal education. Using this project as a gateway into my own exploration I have gotten the opportunity to change perspectives and truly dive into the culture and traditions that are at the heart of First Nation lives. I have been seeking out stories; resources through lives lived. This inquiry has been an opportunity to reflect on who I am as a white, young, Christian and as a student aiming to be an educator. It has opened my eyes to become aware of our educations’ limits and its strengths. I have come to appreciate culture and diversity more through the exploration of First Nations history.

Learning about Teacher Practice and Context/ Conditions: Stories are abundant in school. It is a spectacular field for observation, interaction, connection and relationship. Through the writing of poems I have become aware of more student stories than I would have ever been open to. I would like to incorporate the themes of connection and relationship through story telling in all aspects of my practice. It is important for relationship to be the foundation of education. Giving my students opportunities to share who they are is the first step of incorporating this inquiry into my practice.

Product of Inquiry- over the past two semesters I have been collecting stories as a form of data. I synthesized that data into poems because poetry is how I find it easiest and most effective to communicate my own stories. I wrote 6 poems of the course of 7 months. They detail the feelings, interactions and relationships I have build with students of First Nation decent. Over the past semester I have also drawn three pictures. These are symbolic of where I have come from and how I now view Aboriginal Education. Each picture is drawn on weekly sermon note paper that is made available during the church service I attend. This symbolizes the tension I feel as a white Christian approaching the topics of persecution of First Nations and the redemption I believe to be possible through connection and relationship with one another.

Process of Inquiry- although my product is poetry and drawings, my process had much to do with research and the collection of resources. I have been collecting children’s books and First Nations artifacts to better incorporate their culture and traditions into my life. Forms of art speak deeply to me. I have been recording evidence of First Nations representation around the lower mainland using photography. But the foundation of my process has been collecting stories. Everyone has a story. It has been an honour to be a part of that.

Leave a Reply

