AbEd Inquiry: How do I Introduce AbEd To A Kindergarten Class?

As soon as I found out that I was teaching Kindergarten and I had to teach AbEd I started to panic. How do I teach students who are ELL about the Aboriginal culture? In what depth did I need to go into? My SA was very helpful in guiding me in the AbEd journey. As I starting teaching my class, I realized that planting the seeds about the Aboriginal culture  was important and at this age level was appropriate. The first book which I read to the class to introduce the Aboriginal and or First Peoples of Canada was P’esk’a and the First Salmon Ceremony. This book was used incorporated in my math lesson about shapes, salmon art lesson about how shapes are used in Aboriginal art, science lesson about the importance of the salmon to the First Peoples and as in introduction to who the First Peoples of Canada are as a part of the Social Studies component.

Leave a Reply

