AbEd Inquiry- Hayley Melvin

AbEd photo

How can I incorporate Aboriginal Education into my classroom community?

The photo is a painting I did to explain how I identified the path of our First Peoples. The first tree represents the vast and important history of Canada that the First Nations offered. The second tree represents the cultural genocide that occurred over the last hundred years. The final tree represents the future regrowth that I hope to see celebrated in the classroom. All three trees are connected by their roots. The roots represent the strength of the First Nations to keep their identity.

Heading in to 405 I planned a lesson to incorporate Principles of Learning into my Science 8 honours class. Students got into 7 groups. Each group was given a large piece of paper, felt and one of the 9 statements (of the 9 Principles of Learning). The students were not told where the statements came from till after they wrote down connections between the statements and science.

The principle have focused more specifically on is: Learning is holistic, reflexive, reflective, experiential, and relational (focused on connectedness, on reciprocal relationships, and a sense of place). I want my students to reflect on what they are learning and how they can apply it to their life to create wellness. I also have incorporated this statement into my teaching.

Leave a Reply

