Alex’s AbEd Inquiry

When I first learned Aboriginal Education was a major part of the new curriculum I was not too sure how I was going to incorporate that into my classes and content without it feeling forced.  We were then introduced to the First Peoples Principles of Learning and the feeling of teaching this to my students became real.  I started to realize these are big aspects of growing as a person and a student yet the importance behind them happen to have developed from the peoples of our land.  So when my question was: how do I educate my students about Aboriginal Learning when most are first generation Canadians and might not even know about current Canadian knowledge, the task seemed reachable and inviting.

I started to discover some of the principles for myself :

Learning ultimately supports the well-being of the self, the family, the community, the land, the spirits, and the ancestors

Learning is holistic, reflexive, reflective, experiential, and relational

Learning involves patience and time

These principles were important for me to learn and take on for myself before I could instil them in my lessons and students.  I practiced things like personal reflection on my lessons and decisions, meditation to take time for myself, breathe and put my stress behind for just a few minutes and decide what was important not only now but for the future.

As I progressed through my weeks I found unique ways to touch upon a few of the principles mostly in my Physical Education lessons.  Daily I was able to have my students reflect on many of aspects I taught them and this week coming I look forward to seeing a large artifact project that relates all my teaching to my students learning.  It will hopefully tie together all the principles and growth of each of my students.

I chose to show my AbEd project in a collage form, this was how I did it:IMG_3150.jpg

Leave a Reply

